Reflection: September

Take a look inside of my planner (my life companion) and you’ll see how busy September 2016 has been. Full of homework assignments, exam dates, meetings, events; yet somehow I never felt overwhelmed.

September is over now, and it was a crazy one. I’m a year older (I made it to my second decade of life!), I made it through a full month of my sophomore year of college on the Hill (I’m not failing out of any classes!), and I finished my first month of my Single Year!

What’s a ‘Single Year’?

It’s exactly what it sounds like: a year dedicated to staying completely single. This means no dating, no pursuing, and no flirting with guys for a full 365 days—but to make it even better, we’re using it as a way to grow closer to God.

Who is ‘we’?

We is Q and me. If you don’t know Q, here’s a quick summary: when God created sunshine, He had her in mind. img_6581

How does staying single for a year help you grow closer to God?

I love boys. I think about them a lot, try to impress them a lot, and dislike it a lot when they don’t have the same interest in me that I have in them. In short, I find my worth in boys. When I finally identified this as a problem in my life, I decided to make a change to eliminate it. I started to realize I needed to find my worth in Christ alone. I realized I needed to find my identity in Christ alone. To rely on Him. To desire to know Him above all others. To trust in Him and His timing.

And if you know me, I hope you know I go big or go home.

I realized these changes wouldn’t come overnight, and they sure as heck didn’t come in a month. With that said, however, I can tell you the month of September has boosted me forward in my relationship with the Lord substantially. I can see changes in my everyday life; in the things I desire, the way I carry myself, the way I talk to others, the way I see others, and the way I see God.

I can’t express how excited I am about the next 11 months, or how excited I am to be exactly where I am exactly when I am.

Some things to think about (or comment/email me about!) as you go through your daily life:

  • When was the last time you felt everything in your life had to add up to lead to the exact moment you were in?
  • What do you let define your life?
  • What are you struggling with right now? What does scripture say about it?

 

If you would like a more in-depth reflection about the first month of my single year, please email me (I’m taking an extended break from social media, so emailing me is the most reliable way to contact me). I would love to talk to you about everything I’ve experienced and learned!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

