Nightmares

Last night I went to sleep with hope.

This morning I woke up, surrounded by words of fear and disownment and hate, with hope.

Over the past few weeks, Americans have chosen between two very interesting and, frankly, undesirable, candidates for president. All it came down to was the push of a button or the swipe of a pen, and your choice had been made. So who was it going to be: Hillary or Trump?

This morning I woke up to the news. I woke up to fearful posts on social media. I woke up to a message from a good friend saying if I or anyone else in the group voted for Donald Trump, we are no longer friends of this person. I woke up hearing about the American Flag being burned.

I woke up to the news. Take a deep breath, and move on–there’s nothing we can do about it now.

I read the posts. I read the messages. And it’s clear to me: that is the nightmare everyone needs to be talking about.

The nightmare isn’t who was voted president. The nightmare is that everyone has given up on life because of it. The nightmare is that everyone has given up on each other because of it.

Everyone needs to realize our president does not define America. We define America.

This is a time of need. A need of a wake-up call and a realization that our fear is capable of tearing this country apart but our hope is capable of holding it together and allowing it to push forward. The voice of one man does not define us. HOPE defines us.

I understand your fear. But I know my hope is stronger than your fear.

 

If you are afraid and would like to talk about who I place my trust in, please email me. I want to talk to you!

“. . . I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

Leave a Reply

